IAS is the game of vision only….its not a cramming game…


Stage I: Civil Services (Preliminary) Examinations (Objective Type) for the selection of candidates for Main Examination

The Examination shall comprise two compulsory papers of 200 marks each.

Paper I – (200 marks) Duration: Two hours

  •  Current events of national and international importance.
  • History of India and Indian National Movement.
  • Indian and World Geography – Physical, Social, Economic Geography of India and the World.
  • Indian Polity and Governance – Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.
  • Economic and Social Development Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector initiatives, etc.
  • General issues on Environmental Ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate Change – that do not require subject specialization.
  • General Science.

Paper II- (200 marks) Duration: Two hours

  • Comprehension
  • Interpersonal skills including communication skills
  • Logical reasoning and analytical ability
  • Decision-making and problem-solving
  • General mental ability
  • Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude, etc.) (Class X level), Data
  • interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. – Class X level)
  • English Language Comprehension skills (Class X level).

The Preliminary Examination will consist of two papers of Objective type (multiple choice questions) and carry a maximum of 400 marks in the subjects set out in subsection (A) of Section-II. This examination is meant to serve as a screening test only; the marks obtained in the Preliminary Examination by the candidates who are declared qualified for admission to the Main Examination will not be counted for determining their final order of merit. The number of candidates to be admitted to the Main Examination will be about twelve to thirteen times the total approximate number of vacancies to be filled in the year in the various Services and Posts. Only those candidates who are declared by the Commission to have qualified in the Preliminary Examination in the year will be eligible for admission to the Main Examination of that year provided they are otherwise eligible for admission to the Main Examination.

Note 1 : Questions relating to English Language Comprehension skills of Class X level (last item in the Syllabus of Paper II) will be tested through passages from English language only without providing Hindi translation thereof in the question paper.

Stage II: Civil Services (Main) Examination (Written and Interview) for the selection of candidates for the various services and posts:  The written examination will consist of the following papers:

Qualifying Papers 2 (Two)

Paper A

One of the Indian Language to be selected by the candidate from the Languages included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution

300 Marks

Paper B


300 Marks

Main papers: Marks for the following 7 (Seven) papers would be counted for Merit.

Paper I Essay 250 Marks
Paper II General Studies I 250 Marks
Paper III General Studies II 250 Marks
Paper IV General Studies III 250 Marks
Paper V General Studies IV 250 Marks
Paper VI Optional Subject Paper – 1 250 Marks
Paper VII Optional Subject Paper – 2 250 Marks

Sub Total (Written Test) 

1750 Marks

Personality Test

275 Marks

Grand Total 

2025 Marks

Paper-“A” and  “B”: There will be two qualifying papers in any Indian language and English each of 300 marks.


Paper-I : Essay 250 Marks: Candidates will be required to write an essay on a specific topic. The choice of subjects will be given. They will be expected to keep closely to the subject of the essay to arrange their ideas in orderly fashion, and to write concisely. Credit will be given for effective and exact expression.


Paper-II: General Studies-I (Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society) of 250 marks which may include following topics:

Paper-III: General Studies -II (Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations) of 250 marks which may include following topics:


Paper-IV: General Studies -III (Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management) of 250 marks which may include following topics:


Paper-V: General Studies -IV (Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude) of 250 marks which may include following topics:


PAPER-VI & PAPER VII:  Optional Subject Papers I & II

List of optional subjects for Main Examination: Agriculture ; Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science ; Anthropology ; Botany ; Chemistry ; Civil Engineering ; Commerce and Accountancy ; Economics ; Electrical Engineering ; Geography ; Geology ;History ; Law ; Management; Mathematics ; Mechanical Engineering ; Medical Science ; Philosophy ; Physics ; Political Science and International Relations ; Psychology ;Public Administration ;Sociology ;Statistics and Zoology .

Literature of any one of the following languages: Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu, English.Candidates may choose any optional subject from the list of subjects

Note: The candidates would be allowed to use any one language from the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution or English as the medium of writing the examination.

Age limit for IAS exams : General Category: 32 years,  Other Backward Classes (OBC): 35 years,   Scheduled Castes / Scheduled Tribes: 37 years,  blind, deaf-mute and orthopaedically handicapped persons:42 years

Number of attempts permitted: General Category:6,  OBC:9,  Physically Handicapped:9,  SC & ST:No limit on number of attempts

List of civil services in India

1) Indian Administrative Service (IAS)

2) Indian Foreign Service (IFS)

3) Indian Police Service (IPS)

4) Indian P & T Accounts & Finance Service, Group ‘A’

5) Indian Audit and Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

6) Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise) Group ‘A’

7) Indian Defence Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

8) Indian Revenue Service, Group ‘A’ (IRS)

9) Indian Ordnance Factories Service, Group ‘A’ (Assistant Works Manager, Non-technical)

10) Indian Postal Service, Group ‘A’

11) Indian Civil Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

12) Indian Railway Traffic Service, Group ‘A’

13) Indian Railway Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

14) Indian Railway Personnel Service, Group ‘A’

15) Post of Assistant Security Officer, Group ‘A’ in Railway Protection Force

16) Indian Defence Estates Service, Group ‘A’

17) Indian Information Service (Junior Grade), Group ‘A’

18) Indian Trade Service, Group “A” (Grade-III)

19) Indian Corporate Law Service, Group “A”

20) Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service, Group ‘B’ (Section Officer’s Grade)

21) Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service, Group ‘B’

22) Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service, Group ‘B’

23) Pondicherry Civil Service, Group ‘B’

24) Pondicherry Police Service, Group ‘B’

5 (100%) 101 votes